| [ Current Topics | Complete List of All Active Topics | RSS feed | Search ] |
714,032 pageviews by Microsoft IP number to our shopping cart in 3 days: what's going on?Our website ecommerce/shopping cart link received from bl1sch4081711.phx.gbl (65.55.107.116) the following: March 13, 2008: 100,505 pageviews March 14, 2008: 375,080 pageviews Normally we receive a few hundred pageviews each day to the ecommerce/shopping cart link. The tying up of our ecommerce/shopping cart raises special concerns. A DNS lookup leads a Microsoft IP number, but with this note: "Could be forged: hostname bl1sch4081711.phx.gbl. does not exist." Any suggestions, ideas? Thanks, ET -- Edward Tufte, March 15, 2008 |
|
Response to Advice on website attack
Start by blocking the IP address. Then start checking the error and access logs for the server to see specifically what they are calling. Did they succeed in getting the server to spit out information or did they just cause 1000s of errors? Considering the nature of the "attack". I would say they were either trying to exploit a known vulnerability in your ecommerce system or they were enumerating/fuzzing the system in hopes of finding a weakness. It all comes down to what sort of requests they were sending. Could be a DOS, but most likely was an errant scraper or spider. If the source of the trouble was only a single IP address I wouldn't worry too much and just make sure that the necessary live forensic work is done by the admin. If there was a compromise it will become very obvious in a hurry what with the sloppiness of the "attack". Good luck and I hope they didn't cause you too much trouble! -- thom (email), March 15, 2008 |
|
Response to Advice on website attack Hi Edward, Do you have the user-agent string from these requests or a small excerpt from the web logs? The IP adddress you referenced belongs to Microsoft and when I did some searching for parts of the domain name I found weblogs that listed the domain name bl1sch*******.phx.gbl with a user-agent of "msnbot/1.0 (+http://search.msn.com/msnbot.htm)". If this matches what you are seeing in your weblog and the traffic is coming from an MSN search spider then you'll probably need to either contact Microsoft or attempt to limit the traffic from this spider using your robots.txt file. http://search.msn.com/docs/siteowner.aspx?t=SEARCH_WEBMASTER_FAQ_MSNBotIndexing.htm#D
-- Paul (email), March 15, 2008 |
|
Still more On Saturday, March 15, there were 238,447 more pageviews to our ecommerce/shopping cart link from bl1sch4081711.phx.gbl (65.55.107.116), before we blocked this Microsoft IP and sent it off to our toxic IP garden of spammers, trolls, sockpuppets, and Nigerian bots. The grand total came to 714,032 pageviews. The staff will try to figure things out this week. The flooded link takes orders for, among other things, my essay "The Cognitive Style of PowerPoint." It was apparently not the case, however, that Microsoft sought to order 714,032 copies of the PP booklet.
-- Edward Tufte, March 16, 2008 |
|
That IP is indeed owned by Microsoft. Each block of address is registered with a central authority (the IANA) when it is given out, and this can be examined by using the WHOIS service. All the IPs in the range 65.52-55.* are registered with Microsoft: OrgName: Microsoft Corp OrgID: MSFT Address: One Microsoft Way City: Redmond StateProv: WA PostalCode: 98052 Country: US NetRange: 65.52.0.0 - 65.55.255.255 CIDR: 65.52.0.0/14 NetName: MICROSOFT-1BLK NetHandle: NET-65-52-0-0-1 Parent: NET-65-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Assignment NameServer: NS1.MSFT.NET NameServer: NS5.MSFT.NET NameServer: NS2.MSFT.NET NameServer: NS3.MSFT.NET NameServer: NS4.MSFT.NET Comment: RegDate: 2001-02-14 Updated: 2004-12-09 RTechHandle: ZM23-ARIN RTechName: Microsoft Corporation RTechPhone: +1-425-882-8080 RTechEmail: noc@microsoft.com OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE231-ARIN OrgAbuseName: Abuse OrgAbusePhone: +1-425-882-8080 OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@microsoft.com OrgAbuseHandle: HOTMA-ARIN OrgAbuseName: Hotmail Abuse OrgAbusePhone: +1-425-882-8080 OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@hotmail.com OrgAbuseHandle: MSNAB-ARIN OrgAbuseName: MSN ABUSE OrgAbusePhone: +1-425-882-8080 OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@msn.com OrgNOCHandle: ZM23-ARIN OrgNOCName: Microsoft Corporation OrgNOCPhone: +1-425-882-8080 OrgNOCEmail: noc@microsoft.com OrgTechHandle: MSFTP-ARIN OrgTechName: MSFT-POC OrgTechPhone: +1-425-882-8080 OrgTechEmail: iprrms@microsoft.com # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2008-03-15 19:10 # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database. -- David Magda (email), March 16, 2008 |
|
Conclusion
Our expert admin reports:
"Those requests have stopped. I added a record to our /robots.txt
These sorts of things happen a couple of times each year; I regret that Microsoft created this problem, especially Thanks everyone for all the thoughtful contributions. ET -- Edward Tufte, March 16, 2008 |
|
Ed, I heard about this thread from some Microsoft employees who recently attended a session in Seattle. I work for Live Search and I wanted to apologize for your site being hit so hard in the Fall. We had an issue with one of our crawlers that was brought to our attention by numerous customers. We do believe we fixed the issue with the crawler in question, but I wanted to check in and make sure you haven't had any additional issues with Microsoft hitting your site too hard. We try very hard to respect peoples sites and are open to any feedback you may have. You or any of your readers who are having issues can contact me directly at jandrick@microsoft.com and we will look into the issue immediately. Again I am very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Jeremiah Andrick Program Manager, Live Search Webmaster Center -- Jeremiah Andrick (email), July 18, 2008 |
|
700,000 shopping cart visits in 3 days
Since the economic damage to our shopping cart access was modest, ET -- Edward Tufte, July 19, 2008 |
|
What is really amusing to me is that I can't even get to edwardtufte.com from inside the Microsoft corporate network... yet our servers are pinging away at yours? -- Brian (email), July 20, 2008 |
|
phx.gbl stands for phoenix global intelligence. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phoenix_Global_Intelligence_Systems Yeah, it is the U.S. governments spy service. And they use it to moniter and watch people through messenger. Be careful it came up on my computer but as 10.7.something.100 not the usual 64.*.*.* and it does not resolve it is a blackhole. Don't answer the emails or anything if Messenger is connecting to it, they are spying on you. I have also seen that many email scams and other hacking incidents have been related to it. -- Charles (email), May 13, 2010 |
|
|